2016

Undaunted

Then there’s Dauntless. They’re our protectors, our soldiers, our police. I always thought they were amazing. Brave, fearless, and free. Some people think Dauntless are crazy, which they kind of are.“—  Tris explaining the factions

 

I have a vision for my life every year. 2013: A year that brought the most challenges I have ever had and I can not even tell you how many times I cried that year. I felt like I was walking around aimlessly and had no purpose and  and that is why from that year on I decided to have a vision for my life that aligns with my goals for the year.

 

2014 was fierce. I decided to be strong and gentle just like a lioness. I wanted to be someone that didn’t back down when things got tough. I wanted to live,love,be fierce. I got the word fierce tattooed that very year and ever since then I have been known by the word fierce. Hence the name of my blog.

 

2015 was Arise Fiercely. I went through a stagnant year that resulted in me deciding to fly. I had to fight to fly it wasn’t easy. I thought having that vision meant a year of highs. Oh boy was I wrong. Just because you are born with wings doesn’t mean you will simply just take off. You have to learn how to fly and every time you want to fly you have to make the conscience decision to do so. 2015 taught me how to make conscience decisions.

 

Which brings to me to 2016. The year of being undaunted. You surely remember the movie divergent where there are “factions” for everyone. When you reach a certain age you leave the faction your family belongs to to sort of discover which faction you belong in.

First there is Abnegation: The selfless faction. They care for others needs above their own.

Second is Erudite: The intelligent faction. “Knowledge is the only logical solution to conflict”

Third is Dauntless: The brave faction. They strive to become courageous and indestructible.

Fourth is Amity: The peaceful faction. They value peace and harmony above all else.

Fifth is Candor: The honest faction. They value honesty above all else.

 

Tris Prior in the Divergent trilogy fits in 3 of the five factions making her a threat especially to Erudite the intelligent faction. She decides to join Dauntless the brave faction even though she could go to Abnegation and Erudite as well.

 

The Dauntless faction was formed by those who believed that fear and cowardice was ultimately the cause for the problems society faced.Okay enough about the Divergent trilogy. Ultimately I chose this as my vision for the year because I value bravery and fearlessness but I do not consider myself physically brave.

 

Sure I am brave mentally and thats what matters to me because to be honest I would probably be put into Erudite if I was in the Divergent Trilogy. The thing with the Dauntless is that they are clever,honest, fight for peace,are intelligent and are selfless. Things I strive to be.

 

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”

Veronica Roth, Divergent

 

“If you are really one of us, it won’t matter to you that you might fail. And if it does, you are a coward.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Bring on 2016. The year of being Undaunted.

Standard

10 thoughts on “Undaunted

Leave a Reply

